Listify Tuesday #21: Spooky Reads

Hey everyone and happy Halloween! Welcome back to another edition of Listify Tuesday, a weekly series where every Tuesday I talk about 5 (usually) bookish related things that fit under the topic. This week I’m talking about creepy and spooky reads that are perfect reads to fit the Halloween theme. So, let’s get started

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

220px-hollow_city_novel_cover

This includes kind of the whole trilogy but I haven’t read the third book yet so I’m just going to talk about the first one! This book is perfect for Halloween. It is so creepy with its cast of misfit characters who are peculiar with different things they can do. Its like their living in an extravagant costume for their whole life. Along with the spooky pictures it’s the best amount of creep to read during Halloween season.

2. The Girl Behind the Glass by Jane Kelley

9757234

Now this one is a middle grade that I read when I was in elementary school and recently reread earlier this year (I think). Yet still over 5 years later, it still spooked me! This book is about a family with twins that moves into this house into town that everyone thinks is haunted. These twins usually can’t be separated by when they move in one twin becomes friends with the resident ghost who pulls the twins apart and is protective of their friendship against the twin’s family which causes quite a few scary problems. During the climax of this book I was hooked with the suspense of it even the second time through.

3. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

24800

I have been wanting to check this one out since I was probably… 12 years old. I heard about this one on Hey Teen Books Hey’s tumblr quite a few years ago. They said it would keep you awake at night and scared, that you would always be looking over your shoulder. They even said that you may have to annotate it and take notes because it’s so weird and complex and written in different ways so you can keep up. This is probably the ultimate Halloween read if you’re up for it.

4. Time for Andrew by Mary Downing Hahn

541527

I was scrolling through my Goodreads Read books shelf to find some other books to mention and I sae this one. I remember this one creeping me out when I was younger. I thought it was spooky from the minute the main character came to the house and how they described the house. It was also a scary plot because of the fact that this very young boy Andrew is being haunted by a ghost his age! It was a spookily good read with more Halloween like vibes.

5. Abduction by Peg Kehret

668026

This one isn’t spooky scary but it’s just… scary. Abduction is about a kidnapping of a little boy. Peg Kehret is great at mystery books and making younger kids scared to follow in the footsteps of these kids. The villains in these stories are rough (at least they were when I was younger). If you need a book that fits serial killer type movies that I know so many people love, this may be the book for you.


That’s all for today, folks! I hope you enjoyed and I hope you will pick up some of these books, read them, and enjoy them. Have you read any of these books? Do you plan to read any of these books? Tell me down below. – Kambria

1 Comment

Leave a comment