Searching Saturday #20: Verb In Title

Hey, everybody! Welcome back to another edition of Searching Saturday (even though it’s not on a Saturday). If you don’t know, Nikki @ TheNightIsDarkAndFullOfBooks has a monthly scavenger hunt with 4-5 prompts that all link to each other. You find books new to you and share them with your followers. Last week’s prompt was find a horror book.

This week’s prompt is: Take the first verb from the synopsis of book 1 and find a book with that verb in the title

354519

How Not To Spend Your Senior Year by Cameron Dokey
Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis

Rule #1: If at all possible, don’t pretend to be something you’re not. Specifically, don’t play dead. Trust me on this one. I did it, so I should know.

Jo O’Connor has spent her whole life moving around. When it comes to new schools, there’s not a trick in the book about starting over that Jo doesn’t know. But life is about to teach her a new trick: how to disappear entirely.

Rule #2: Always expect the Spanish Inquisition, no matter what anyone else does.

They have to move again. Now. This very night. Jo knows better than to argue. Her dad is the key witness in a major case against a big-time bad guy. But Jo just can’t resist one last visit to the school where she’s been so happy. All she wants is to say good-bye. That can’t cause any problems, can it?

Rule #3: Never assume you can predict the future.

Now Jo’s one last visit has landed her smack in the middle of a ghost story. Specifically, her own. By the time it’s over, she’ll have a whole new set of rules about what’s real, what’s make-believe, and — most of all — what’s important.” – Goodreads

How I Found It

After reading the synopsis of The Grave Keepers, I found that the first verb was spending. So I went on Goodreads and typed in spending and clicked enter. The fourth option was this cute cartoon cover with the perfect title.

Why I Chose It

After hooking me with its adorable cover of a high school teen, I read the title and was sold. I am currently a junior in high school obviously meaning that next year I will be a senior. I would never suggest a book to you guys that I wasn’t interested in, and I’m interested in this book because it just might help me. I love high school setting books, especially ones that are specifically about learning how to get through high school like Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie and Sophomores and Other Oxymorons. The especially cool thing with this one is that it has a twist unlike these others.


That’s all for today, folks! I hope you enjoyed this edition of Searching Saturday (again, sorry it’s not on a Saturday). Are you still in school? If so, what grade/year? – Kambria

Leave a Reply

