Searching Saturday #17: Same Last Name Initial

Hey, everyone! How are you today? This is week 3 of August’s scavenger. Last week’s topic was find a book with the same color background as week one’s book. Eventually, this is going to be hard to explain haha.

This week’s topic is: Find a book with written by an author whose last name starts with the same letter as the author from last week

68766

Blues Legacies and Black Feminism: Gertrude “Ma” Rainey, Bessie Smith, and Billie Holiday by Angela Y. Davis

Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis

“From one of this country’s most important intellectuals comes a brilliant analysis of the blues tradition that examines the careers of three crucial black women blues singers through a feminist lens. Angela Davis provides the historical, social, and political contexts with which to reinterpret the performances and lyrics of Gertrude “Ma” Rainey, Bessie Smith, and Billie Holiday as powerful articulations of an alternative consciousness profoundly at odds with mainstream American culture.
The works of Rainey, Smith, and Holiday have been largely misunderstood by critics. Overlooked, Davis shows, has been the way their candor and bravado laid the groundwork for an aesthetic that allowed for the celebration of social, moral, and sexual values outside the constraints imposed by middle-class respectability. Through meticulous transcriptions of all the extant lyrics of Rainey and Smith published here in their entirety for the first time Davis demonstrates how the roots of the blues extend beyond a musical tradition to serve as a conciousness-raising vehicle for American social memory. A stunning, indispensable contribution to American history, as boldly insightful as the women Davis praises, Blues Legacies and Black Feminism is a triumph.”” – Goodreads

Where I Found It

Who knew there weren’t that many authors whose last name’s start with D. I went through first my recommendations for my 3rd-person-omni shelf and there was none there (out of 49- a few of which I knew). Then I went through my reccomendations for my buzzfeed-reccomended shelf and the 20th was Angela Y. Davis.

Why I Chose It

As you all know, I choose these books based on really, what I need, and then I check out the premise of this book and tell you what I find cool about it here. First of all, this is a book about black feminism. I’m black, so I love to see anything positive about black women because I am also a girl so that’s cool too. And just like last week’s (I think) it brings a new genre to my blog, and this one is nonfiction. I rarely ever read nonfiction, so having one here to recommend to you is just fine with me, haha. Also, this book is about music! So adding even more things to the blog, that usually aren’t usually there.


That’s all for today, folks! Do you like how short these posts are? Do you think I should make them longer by adding a second book? Tell me your opinions in the comments, pretty please! – Kambria

 

Leave a Reply

