Listify Tuesday #15: Popular Standalones I Haven’t Read

Howdy, folks! A lot of these books may come as a shock to a lot of people. Mainly because, they’re super hyped up and it seems like everyone has read them… Except for me. So, don’t try to burn me at the stake because I haven’t read the following 5 books and they are only on my TBR (and there will be a part 2 because there are a lot I haven’t read).

1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905 Trust me, I have wanted to read this one since I read and loved Eleanor & Park. I want to love every single one of Rainbow Rowell’s books yet… I have only read one. Yes, that means I haven’t read Attatchments, Carry On, Landline, or Kindred Spirits. I’ve been wanting to read this one, probably since I joined the bookish community about 2-3 years ago. It sounded just perfect for me: a contemporary about a girl who writes fanfiction (which I did at the time) and is a gigantic fangirl (like I am). But always, when I go to buy books, I never pick this one up. Hopefully soon though I can get my hands on this beautiful hardcover and if I love it (which I really hope I do), I will buy the collector’s editions also.

Goodreads

heart_eyes_emoji_2

2. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

16143347 Yes, the book that everybody seems to have near 0 problems with. My sister read this one quite a few years back and I’ve wanted to read it ever since she recommended it to me. But of course, because I’m a flop that never happened because I never had a set TBR back then and at that time I wasn’t in the book community on social media, so I didn’t know it was a big hit. I actually have no idea what this one is about because most everyone says to go into it blind so that’s what I’m going to do. The general concept that people do give out seems really intriguing though. I also like the cover because it looks like a summer contemporary read yet the typography points to its mystery aspect.

Goodreads

heart_eyes_emoji_2

3. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

9361589 This is one that my friend actually has and read about two years back and she and her mom really enjoyed it. I could really just borrow it from her but at the time I was trying to knock down the books from my shelves, which I still am. I’ve been on a book borrowing ban for a while now and although I still break it (like now, I have her copy of The Handmaid’s Tale) I just can’t bring myself to ask her for this one. But, this post may change that. Right here, right now, I am going to make a vow: I promise that after I read my current borrow from her, my two books for school, and the arcs that have come out and are going to come out, that I will borrow The Night Circus so I can finally read it.

Goodreads

heart_eyes_emoji_2

4. Since You’ve Gone by Morgan Matson

18189606 Yep, you read that right. And I’m going to possibly shock you even more: I haven’t read a single Morgan Matson book. I know, for being such a contemporary lover, I haven’t read any book by a contemporary goddess. Again, trust me, I really want to read this book so so so badly but it never ends up in my cart when I buy books. I didn’t really know about Morgan Matson too much until a few months before The Unexpected Everything was released and I always said, I have to get every one of those books (and I still say that) yet it hasn’t happened. All of her books look just so perfect for summer because the covers have all the right elements of summer, I mean look at this one: ice cream, sunglasses, and grass!

Goodreads

heart_eyes_emoji_2

5. This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

24529123 This one was popular for a certain part of time and I know a lot of people enjoyed it. Since everyone read it (it seems like) all at the same time, I did not, so I feel left out. That’s why it’s featured on this list. Quite a few of the Youtubers that I watch have either read it and loved it or its on their to read list. This book is of a harder topic so I feel like it’s not one that people seem to mention much anymore and I wish it was (because it’d also inspire me to want to buy it although I probably won’t). I wanted to read it as soon as I heard of the concept because it was so fresh and unique and seemed so interesting that I felt like I just had to read it.

Goodreads

heart_eyes_emoji_2

That’s all for today, folks! Have you read any of these popular books? I’m sure you have, haha. – Kambria

Leave a Reply

