Always and Forever, Lara Jean Review

alwaysandforeverAuthor: Jenny Han
Series: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #3
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Published: May 2nd, 2017
Retail Price: $17.99
Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis

“Lara Jean’s letter-writing days aren’t over in this surprise follow-up to the New York Times bestselling To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?” – Goodreads

Review

To actually say every amazing thought that I have about this book would probably end up being a 50 page essay. But, I loved this conclusion so much, you don’t even know. Being that To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is my favorite book probably of all time, I was really scared to start this book, yet also so excited. I didn’t even expect for there to be a third one, so I was already in a dream hearing of yet another tale of Lara Jean and Peter K. This book did not let me down at all.

If you didn’t know, I marathon-ed the whole trilogy in the month of June and I think that even added to my love for this last book. First of all, it still gave me all the giddy, loads of feels moments. This book had the most of a roller coaster of emotions out of all the books. I was really happy one moment and the next sentence just broke my heart. I had lots of actual laugh out loud moments and… It made me cry twice. That’s what made me love it the most. It connected with me so much that I actually felt it every time Lara Jean felt something.

The relationship between Peter and Lara Jean in this book is a bit unstable but I enjoyed it and didn’t find it too problematic because it was the whole point of this specific book of whether or not they were going to stay together or break up. It added tension and an actual serious relationship asset that some people may not like because they’re only teens but I loved it because it made them even more adults that they are soon to be and even more in love. And might I say, tension in contemporary books makes it that much more amazing.

The ending also did wonders for this novel for me. Of course I’m not going to say if it was happy or sad (even though for me its going to be sad because no more Lara Jean books) but it was a perfect fit for the book. I hope that doesn’t give anything away.

Our characters are just as fun and amazing and themselves as ever and we really only meet one new (not so important) side character so it feels good to not get blasted with a bunch of new characters at the very end. Our characters are also still developing like we expect to see from high school level kids. Peter makes a lot of changes that I loved to see especially because it seems to put right where he needs to be. Same with Lara Jean, she really made amazing changes that seem to fit perfectly for her as she’s about to go off to college. She does a lot of things for herself which is amazing to see her be strong for what she believes in while she’s still so young.

Our family aspect is still as strong as ever. Lara Jean is still a family girl and a lot of decisions she makes and a lot of this book is about her relationship with her family just like in the past two books and I’m also glad that part wasn’t cut out. So many young adult books don’t have much of a family element that it’s so beautiful and refreshing to constantly see one.

Another last random thing, there is so much cookie dialogue and sugary sweets dialogue in this book, it’s ridiculous and also amazing. Chocolate chip cookies are talked about so much you just start craving them every time they’re mentioned. Jenny Han did such an amazing job describing every sort of chocolate chip cookie that there is in existence, its kind of crazy.

This is definitely not all I can say about this book but this is enough to sum up the main stuff that I know people care about. Also, there is no love triangle in this last book! I would not hesitate reading this last book of the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy because it is an hilarious and fun and sad and perfect ending.

Favorite Quotes

“‘Never say no when you really want to say yes.'” – page 20

“From the moment Leo comes on screen in that navy blue suit, I have heart palpitations.” – page 22

“‘Disappointment is good for kids; it prepares them for the real world, where it’s not all about them and their feelings.'” – page 135

“Suddenly life feels fast and slow at the same time. It’s like being in two places at once.” – page 191

“She’s wearing a t-shirt that says HILLARY IS MY PRESIDENT.” – page 200

“Leave with the one you came with, unless he’s a drunk– then find your own way home.” – page 216

“‘Always have a buddy system… One night, you get to drink. The next night, your girlfriend gets to drink. That way one person is always sober enough to hold the other person’s hair back and make sure nothing bad happens.'” – page 231

“Fashion really is cyclical.” – page 296

“‘Guys, guys, I don’t even drank!'” – page 299


If you guys would like to talk spoilery details with me, comment down below or dm me on my Instagram or Twitter @adoringfiction.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

