June Book Haul

For the second month in a row I am doing my book haul separate from my wrap-up! I didn’t get a lot but I got a few things book related that would make my wrap-up just way to long. So without further ado, let’s get into it.

These first 4 books I bought for myself while I was out with a friend at Goodwill. All 4 books for under $15, all hardback. It was so beautiful of a deal I couldn’t resist. So I got:

Binge by Tyler Oakley

916qvngy1fl Goodreads | Amazon

“Pop culture phenomenon, social rights advocate, and the most prominent LGBTQ+ voice on YouTube, Tyler Oakley brings you his first collection of witty, personal, and hilarious essays written in the voice that’s earned him more than 10 million followers across social media.” – Goodreads


Not even kidding, I have been wanting to read this since Tyler first came out with it but of course I was broke. Tyler Oakley is such a hilarious and amazing person I would love to know more about who he really is. Sadly, my copy doesn’t have the beautiful dust jacket so I just get the pretty white cover with the blue lettering on the side. Still okay with me though!

borderFour by Veronica Roth

51i3lk0xknl-_sx328_bo1204203200_ Goodreads | Amazon

“Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child.

Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system.

Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth comes a companion volume to the worldwide bestselling DIVERGENT series, told from the per-spective of the immensely popular character Tobias. The four pieces included here—THE TRANSFER, THE INITIATE, THE SON, and THE TRAITOR—plus three additional exclusive scenes, give readers an electrifying glimpse into the history and heart of Tobias, and set the stage for the epic saga of the DIVERGENT trilogy.” – Goodreads


I have already read this one but it matches my hardcover copies of Insurgent and Allegiant and for so cheap, I couldn’t resist! Now I just have to get Divergent in hardcover… If you know where to get one, tell me please. If/When I reread this series I will write reviews for them.

border

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

41boj-am1rl-_sx331_bo1204203200_ Goodreads | Amazon

Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives. , she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.” – Goodreads


Fun fact (and please don’t hit me for it), I haven’t read the first book of The Hunger Games trilogy yet. I had already seen the movie and I had a stigma that I couldn’t read the books after I watched movies because I already knew what was going to happen. I promise, I will read it when I reread this trilogy and review.

border

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

catching_fire_28suzanne_collins_novel_-_cover_art29 Goodreads | Amazon

Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives. , she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.” – Goodreads


Synopsis is from the first book so no spoilers. Okay, I have read this one and yes, I was lucky enough to get book one and two both at Goodwill! I was so excited. Now, I just have to get book three. I also have my Peeta Pop Funko to go with the books once they properly go on my shelf. I will also review this once I reread the trilogy since I read these books before I opened this blog.

borderMy next book I received from Simon and Schuster so thank you so much to them for sending me:

The Hidden Light of Northern Fires ARC by Daren Wang

51riqldjhil-sx316 Goodreads | Amazon

“A novel rooted in the remarkable, but little-known, true history of the only secessionist town north of the Mason Dixon Line.

When escaped slave, Joe Bell, collapses in her father’s barn, Mary Willis must ward off Confederate guerillas and spies, Joe’s vengeful owner, and even her own brother to help the handsome fugitive cross to freedom.

Mary has always been an outcast, an outspoken abolitionist woman in a town of bounty hunters and anti-Union farmers. Helping runaways is the only thing that makes her life in Town Line bearable. As the countryside is riled by the drumbeat of civil war and the promise of an extravagant bounty for the wounded fugitive, Mary finds herself drawn to the stranger in forbidden ways. When rebels cross from nearby Canada intent on killing him, they bring the devastation of the brutal war to the town and the farm, and threaten to destroy all that Mary loves.” – Goodreads


This book is set to come out on August 29th of this year and I’m actually really excited for it. I like the small synopsis that’s on the back of the copy that I have that I’m ready to read it. I will also be reviewing that, closer to the release date.

border

This next item and last item is actually not a book but it is book related. My mom stopped at Hot Topic for a birthday present for my friend and some Pop Funkos were $4.99 and buy one get one free. So she got my friend Gyn Erso and she got me:

7944_edwardcullen_1470835946 Yes my mom got me Edward Cullen for basically free! Isn’t he so cute? Sadly I don’t have the Twilight books (which I will now have to acquire just for Edward) but he still looks so cute on my shelves!

 

 

 


That’s all for today folks! Do you prefer paperbacks or hardcovers and why? Do you own any Pop Funkos? Do you take them out or keep them in the box? – Kambria

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

