Listify Tuesday #10: July Releases

Happy Fourth of July! I just want to give a quick update with me restarting my Listify Tuesday series with saying that this is just an easier and more motivating way for me to post more often throughout the week. Just like my Searching Saturday posts, I pre-write these. Any of these posts could be just a regular post without the series but I like the organization of these. If there’s any post you would like to see from me though, tell me in a comment! As for this posts, I am not aware of many books coming out in July mainly because I haven’t read many firsts in series or many popular authors so I’m going based on the ones I know of.

1. Because You Love To Hate Me by Ameriie

31450752I am super excited for this one to come out because of the fact that booktubers collaborated with really popular authors! I know Jesse from JesseTheReader worked with Victoria Schwab and Sasha Alsberg from ABookUtopia worked with Susan Dennard (I think), and Ben from BenjaminOfTomes did one too as well as Zoe from ZoeTheReader and also Regan from PeruseProject and I think that is so cool. They are my favorites and I wish I had enough money to get it! This is an anthology about villains basically and since I’ve heard about it so much on booktube, I am super excited to see how everyone feels about it. Here’s the synopsis:

Leave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

Featuring writing from . . .

Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon

BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).” – Goodreads

border

2. Lucky In Love by Kasie West

30285562

I have not read anything by Kasie West before (like I mentioned above) but I do really think that I’d like her books because I like Jenny Han’s books and I enjoyed This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith. I know she writes fluffy contemporary romance from what I’ve heard and honestly, its my favorite genre. I’ve wanted to read her other books for a while now like Fill In Boyfriend so why not be excited for this one too? Here’s the synopsis:

“In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture.

Maddie doesn’t believe in luck. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment —

She wins!

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun… until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love.” – Goodreads

border

3. First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

32259911I saw this book the other day on Instagram or Twitter and I loved the cover. I didn’t really understand the title or if I’m even reading it right (although, what other way could it be pronounced?). I don’t know much anything about it except that the cover makes it look super cool. Okay, I just looked at the genres and I’m even more excited for it because it’s a mystery thriller! If you saw my Fave Books of the Year So Far post you’ll understand why. Here’s the synopsis:

“It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.
A secret society – for the four of us.
The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.
We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that.
Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.
But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.
We wanted revenge.
We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to.
Our invention ratcheted out of control.
What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion.” – Goodreads

border

4. The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova

31686500

This is the second book in the Loom Saga which the first book is Alchemist of Loom. I have not read Alchemist of Loom (like mentioned above) but a lot of people I follow on bookstagram and subscribe to on booktube read and enjoyed the first book and are looking forward to this second book. I personally love the covers (I know nothing of what it’s about) and personally, sometimes, that’s enough for me. Here’s the synopsis:

“Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust — hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything — and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh.

While Nova is embroiled in blood sport and political games, the rebels on Loom prepare for an all-out assault on their Dragon oppressors. Florence unexpectedly finds herself at the forefront of change, as her unique blend of skills — and quick-shooting accuracy — makes her a force to be reckoned with. For the future of her world, she vows vengeance against the Dragons.

Before the rebellion can rise, though, the Guilds must fall.” – Goodreads

5. Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

32320750 I actually just changed from a different book to this one because Jesse from JesseTheReader on booktube talked about this in his video of books he wanted to read in summer and I was definitely intrigued. Hearing that it was a mystery/thriller I was hooked especially with the fact that the main character is possibly being accused of murder. Jesse said that it’s best to go into thrillers not knowing much and I agree with him very much so again, I don’t know too much about this one. Here’s the synopsis though:

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.” – Goodreads


That’s all for today everyone! Have you ever read an anthology? Do you like fluffy contemporaries like me? Do mystery thrillers give you a rush? What’s your favorite fantasy read? Do you like covers with faces/real faces on them? – Kambria

Leave a Reply

