Listify Tuesday #9: Books I Wish Had Adaptations

Hey there everyone! This post is going to be about books that I wish were adapted into movies/tv shows. Now, to be honest, I kind of wish no books were adapted just because they can leave so many things out and that’s not okay! But, they are anyway so I wish these were apart.

1. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462 Aha yes, my favorite fantasy read. Of course I’d want it to be a movie! Maggie Stiefvater puts so much detail and imagination into her books that I just want to be able to see it with my own two eyes. I mean, I can obviously see it in my head while I read but to actually be able to watch it would be amazeballs! For an English project in school freshman year I had to dream cast the characters for this book and they weren’t perfect of course, but I can say that I have some ideas of who they could be or who they could possible look like (did that make sense?). I’d love to see all the magic in action. Also, can you imagine how beautiful Cabeswater would actually be? Ugh, I want this to happen right. now.

 

border

2. Beautiful Creatures by Margaret Stohl & Kami Garcia

6304335 Okay, let me explain. I know this one is already has a movie adaptation but the rest of the books don’t! It was a fairly decent adaptation too, and I want to see the rest of the Caster Chronicles on-screen. How unfair. Me and my friend (who told me to read this series) were so angry to find out that they weren’t going to be continuing with the rest of the movies. So yes, I consider this one to be up for going to screens. There is so much magic and wonderful descriptions that are in this whole series that could turn out amazing on screen if done by the right people. I read this back in 8th grade I think and I’d really love to pick it up again to relive the amazing-ness that is this wonderful world.

 

border

3. The Book Thief

1118668 I honestly can’t tell you why I chose this one. I was thinking about books that I’ve read and I thought that if I saw this one as a film, I would actually cry. I didn’t cry during the book even though it made me very sad. I have no idea why I didn’t cry, any other time I cry over any and everything but books usually don’t get me like that. So if I could physically see this book and all the crap that goes down in it, I’d probably get more emotional because there’d be no breaks and my heart would just shatter by the time a certain scene comes along. This was a very deliciously emotional book that I really liked. It was not at all what I was expecting a few years ago when I first heard about it. So for it to- OH WAIT THIS IS A MOVIE OH MY GOSH I HAVE TO GO WATCH IT.

4. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

15749186 Of course I had to include my favorite and current reread (at the time of me writing this). Since I am currently rereading this I would love to see this as a rom com. But honestly, I’d want everything in it just because it just makes the story. All the awkward short conversations and moments just make the whole contemporary. I love romance/funny movies and I feel this would be a really good combination for one. It sweet and light-hearted and cute and if it were a movie, would remind me of Clueless probably. I would love to see Lara Jean’s fashion sense on-screen with how cute and vintage and quirky it is. Also, all the snacks! Ugh, I’d probably so hungry but the end that I’d have to chow down on 8 pounds of cookies afterward. Also, the diversity!!!

5. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

3107cbpzjyl-_sy344_bo1204203200_ Honestly, why wouldn’t I want to see an empowering young girl in a movie? Our main character Willowdean is confident, or, almost confident. This was such a good empowering story for me to read especially because I sometimes deal with my own body image issues. Although this is not a superhero book, it reminds me of Wonder Woman and I feel like it would have the same impact on-screen as it did but on a different side of the scale. I would love for millions of girls to go and watch this and hopefully walk out feeling better about themselves or on the way to feeling better. Willowdean teaches us that what someone else says, or what society says, does not define us. For the message that this book brings to be on TV or in the movie theaters would make such a good difference in the world.


That’s all for today everyone! What’s your favorite fantasy series? What’s your favorite book-to-movie adaptation? What books do you wish were adapted? What’s your favorite genre of movie? Have you seen Wonder Woman and did you like it? – Kambria

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

