Listify Tuesday #8: Fave Books of 2017 (So Far)

Hello everyone! We are basically at the half way point of the year 2017 (which is kind of crazy to think). So, I thought I’d make a post about my top five favorite books that I’ve read so far this year. I will tag the link to my reviews at the end of each paragraph. Now, without further hesitation and in no particular order, let’s get into it.

1. The Good Daughter by Alexandra Burt

tgdI really really enjoyed this book. When I was younger I was into more mystery books and loved that genre but as I got older I turned more to contemporary and fantasy. But this is more of an adult/young adult mystery thriller and it reminded me how much I love this genre. It was on the less criminality side of the mystery genre so it didn’t give me so much anxiety but I enjoyed it nonetheless. The guessing game that comes with the book is so much fun and it was made even more interesting by having multiple POVs and the different POVs being set in different time periods and how they all eventually connected to each other. This book was like a breath of fresh air for me and now I really want to read more mystery thriller fiction. Review

border

2. A Bridge Across the Ocean by Susan Meissner

51x6xz3lzrl

I enjoyed this book a lot, again, because it was a breath of fresh air as far as reading goes. I don’t normally read historical fiction and now I can see why World War II stories are so popular. There was so much to this book that just kept me hooked; there were three different point of views all set in different time periods and different geographical regions all experiencing different outcomes because of the war. And just like the book mentioned above, every POV came together in such a brilliant way. There were also huge plot twist that had me shocked and I was at the edge of my seat just trying to figure out what was going on! But in a good way of course. This was such a good introduction into this area of the historical fiction genre. Review

 

border

3. Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

31624992

This book is another mystery thriller that I highly enjoyed (which is why its on this list, duh). The build up of this book was good. I liked that we were at a time with nothing, and then were given a little bit of something to keep us strung along until we were given a little bit of something more. It was gut wrenching only getting a little bit at a time but it had me sitting at the edge of my seat the whole time! I had fallen into a small reading slump right before this book and this book easily got me back out of it so I am also grateful for that so of course it was one of my favorites so far. Review

 

 

border

4. Β The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

13573503Β I had watched (and loved) the movie way before I read the book but got lucky with borrowing it from one of my friends and oh my gosh… I loved the book too! Luckily for me I hadn’t seen the movie in a little while so I didn’t remember much so it didn’t affect my reading. But, then I watched the movie a few weeks after and oh my gosh again! It was such a good adaptation. As always there were things that were left out but overall the adaptation (compared to others that I’ve seen) was so so so good. I’m very glad I decided to read this one even if it was so long after. It was heartwarming and heartbreaking and I almost cried, which means it was a good book.

 

border

5. The Book Thief by Markus Zusack

1118668Β Another historical and World War II novel that have made me really like historical fiction. I think one of the main reasons why I loved this book was because of our main character Liesel. She is so easy to love and so innocent and I feel so bad for her yet she is so strong. We also share something in common, we both love books! I just don’t steal them to be able to read, hahaha. Although I personally think that Liesel made a few decisions that I think she should’ve chosen otherwise, but she was so headstrong and she always knew what she wanted especially for somebody so young. Another thing that hooked me to this book was the unique narrator. The book is told through third person from Death. Death tells us the story of Liesel such a different way I just had to enjoy it.


That’s all for today, folks! Talk to me: Do you get anxiety when watching/reading suspense thrillers? Do books easily make you cry? Have you ever read a book with a unique narrator? – Kambria

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

