The Awakening Review

25521894Author: Melissa A. Craven
Series: Emerge
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, YA
Published: March 31, 2015 (E-book)
Retail Price: $0.99
Rating: 3/5 stars

Synopsis

2015 International Book Awards Finalist!!
Allie Carmichael has always believed life is simple.
You’re born. You live. You die.
She has no cause to believe that equation works differently for her, but there has to be a reason the world treats her like a pariah.
When an unexpected move to Kelleys Island brings Aidan McBrien crashing into her life, Allie is thrown by his reaction. He doesn’t shrink from her touch. He doesn’t stutter or make a quick exit. He smiles and welcomes her into his circle of friends, who aren’t exactly comfortable with Allie, but they seem to get her in a way most people don’t.
Finally, Allie has a real shot at normal and rides that high right up to her sixteenth birthday when she wakes in agony—an experience Aidan insists they have all faced. She struggles in ignorance, uncertain of what is real and what isn’t. When she emerges, Allie is different. She has always been different, but even among her extraordinary friends, she and Aidan are special.
As Allie struggles to maintain her tenuous grasp on the power that threatens to overwhelm her, she worries she will lose herself in this strange new world. A dangerous world where she will have to fight tooth and nail to defend the power and freedom that is her birthright.
…only Allie hates to fight.

Review

The Awakening is about a young girl named Allie Carmichael who on her 16th birthday is thrown into the world of the Immortals. She has to learn how to deal with new powers she has and fighting and training like she never has before with new friends and family. This book was quite the adventure especially not knowing what it was about and going in blind (like I like to do).

Starting off talking about our many characters, our main character Allie teetered on my line of liking-ness. Melissa is good at making bad ass, strong female characters and Allie can be one of them. I liked her a lot because she always stood up for what she believed in but she was so stubborn that she was annoying and never understood important lessons that could cause her downfall. Our other characters were all amazing. They each had their own spunk and they each had their own flaws. There were so many strong females which I appreciated the most. And to even it out, we had a lot of strong males which was the best show of equality in a book I have ever seen. I am in love with that aspect and Melissa pulled it off beautifully.

The relationships are a little messy to me. I can’t spoil anything of course but the relationships of the main character are a little… toxic. There are slight motions of cheating, so beware of that. But since the romance is not the main focus of the story it’s not as serious.

Being that this is a paranormal/fantasy book, the creativity is through the roof! I love the fact that almost each and every Immortal character has their own character, and by that I mean power. All of them are unique in what they do. They each have their own history and thing that makes them special and to see that grow is totally cool.

One thing that threw me off the most is that there was a lot of mistakes and occasionally bad grammar. I’m not sure if this was just an… e-book fluke, but there were a lot of things wrong that made the reading in certain place quite confusing. For example, at times I couldn’t tell who was supposed to be talking. Other times when our characters were training and learning to fight, I feel like it was too specific and I was also lost for most of those scenes (but they were fun to try to imagine).

The thing that I liked the most about this book was… drum roll please… THE ENDING! The ending was so good! Ugh, I loved the cliffhanger, it was amazing especially cause it caught me off guard. But, it had me begging for the next book. Just like throughout the book, I was begging for what was going to happen next because it was very, very suspenseful.

The Awakening is great for fans of suspenseful paranormal fantasy who doesn’t mind a large cast of characters and a main character with a couple of flaws.

Favorite Quotes

I do not have page numbers because of the make up of the e-book does not give me page numbers.

“‘family isn’t always about biology… We’re the epitome of the melting pot'”

“‘You’re sitting here, where they keep the food, and you don’t expect to see me?'”

“‘I thought you were trying to make me jealous. Then I realized you were just having fun with your friend and weren’t giving me a second thought.'”

“‘you could hire yourself out as a highly effective birth control'”

“‘clocked him a bunch of times, just for breathing too loud.'”

“‘even the best of us struggle through difficult time.'”

“‘To be born a man! No one would ever question my desire for an exciting life.'”

“‘if you can avoid it, why risk it?'”

“‘She was convinced no one would ask her because she was already so tall.'”

Leave a Reply

