Searching Saturday #10: Person on the Cover

Hello everybody! I am glad to be back today with the meme/series by Nikki @ The night is dark and full of books. For Searching Saturday, each Saturday has a new topic and you talk about books that fit into that topic to add to your TBR or just to inform your readers about. For info on how to join in, click here. Without further hesitation, let’s get into this Searching Saturday.

This week’s topic is: Books with a person on the cover.

border

If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak

32497908 “A sparkling debut about love, family, and the mysteries of the universe.

Linny has been fascinated by disappearances, ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night without saying goodbye.

Sebastian can tell you how many galaxies there are, and knows how much plutonium weighs. But the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father.

They’ve never met, but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Alvaro Herrera, who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As they learn more about the mystery of Alvaro, Linny and Sebastian uncover the answers they’ve been searching for.

With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of finding people who leave and loving those who stay, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Emery Lord.” – Goodreads


I have found this book in the Ending Soon section of the Giveaway page on Goodreads. As you can see, there is a girl on the beach on the cover. I chose this one because it was the first on the page and I really like the set up of the cover.

border

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

31147619 “Winner of the NBCC’s John Leonard First Book Prize
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post Notable Book
One of the Best Books of the Year: NPR, Time, Oprah.com, Harper’s Bazaar, San Francisco Chronicle, Mother Jones, Esquire, Elle, Paste, Entertainment Weekly, the Skimm, Minneapolis Star Tribune, BuzzFeed

Ghana, eighteenth century: two half sisters are born into different villages, each unaware of the other. One will marry an Englishman and lead a life of comfort in the palatial rooms of the Cape Coast Castle. The other will be captured in a raid on her village, imprisoned in the very same castle, and sold into slavery.
Homegoing follows the parallel paths of these sisters and their descendants through eight generations: from the Gold Coast to the plantations of Mississippi, from the American Civil War to Jazz Age Harlem. Yaa Gyasi’s extraordinary novel illuminates slavery’s troubled legacy both for those who were taken and those who stayed–and shows how the memory of captivity has been inscribed on the soul of our nation.” – Goodreads


I found this in the Most Requested section of the Giveaway page of Goodreads. I chose it because it was the first book I didn’t know that had a person on it (two actually!) and secondly, diversity! It was amazing to see two black/African women on the cover.

border

Pottymouth and Stoopid by James Patterson

32078585 “Bestselling author James Patterson’s best book for boys in years! Tired of being bullied, middle-school underdogs “Pottymouth” and “Stoopid” finally fight back with the power of funny.

David and his best friend Michael were tagged with awful nicknames way back in preschool when everyone did silly things. Fast-forward to seventh grade: “Pottymouth” and “Stoopid” are still stuck with the names–and everyone in school, including the teachers and their principal, believe the labels are true.

So how do they go about changing everyone’s minds? By turning their misery into megastardom on TV, of course! And this important story delivers more than just laughs–it shows that the worst bullying doesn’t have to be physical…and that things will get better. A great conversation starter for parents to read alongside their kids!
Official Notice to Parents:There is no actual pottymouthing or stupidity in this entire book!(Psst, kids: that second part might not be entirely true.)” – Goodreads


I found this in the Popular Authors section of the Giveaway page of Goodreads. I chose this one because (obviously) it has two boys on it, and because its a children’s/middle grade novel, I also feel like I don’t choose a lot of male-led books, so this is a perfect fit from what I usually do.

border

That’s all I have for you today! Since all three books are from different genres, tell me what your favorite genre is down in the comments. – Kambria

Advertisements

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s