The Good Daughter ARC Review

tgdAuthor: Alexandra Burt
Series: Standalone
Genres: Suspense, Thriller
Published: February 7, 2017
Retail Price: $16
Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis

“What if you were the worst crime your mother ever committed?

Dahlia Waller’s childhood memories consist of stuffy cars, seedy motels, and a rootless existence traveling the country with her eccentric mother. Now grown, she desperately wants to distance herself from that life. Yet one thing is stopping her from moving forward: she has questions.

In order to understand her past, Dahlia must go back. Back to her mother in the stifling town of Aurora, Texas. Back into the past of a woman on the brink of madness. But after she discovers three grave-like mounds on a neighboring farm, she ll learn that in her mother s world of secrets, not all questions are meant to be answered…” – Goodreads

Review

This book was a whirlwind of mysteries and answers. This was a really good mystery thriller and it makes me want to read more in this genre. I actually loved everything about this book. I had 0 problems with it.

Enough of the characters were so memorable that the other ones that weren’t don’t bother me much. With such a story line like the one executed in this novel, you have to have well made up characters and you end up knowing so much of their life that they are what seems like, burned into your brain because of everything you see them go through.

The plot of this is amazing. The multiple point of views really helped create the story’s outlook and added to the mystery as we weren’t given everything. What also helped was the flashbacks. These flashbacks built the stories slowly but surely. Which takes me to the pacing which was brilliant. Nothing was too slow and nothing was just thrown at you for the sake of the story moving on.

The writing was perfect for the story line and plot. Each character had their own ways of describing scenes and had their own opinions. The descriptions were beautiful and not overbearing, I understand (almost- I’m not good at picturing house floor plans) everything that was told to me.

For everything else, I was pleased with the ending, the character development wasn’t super expressive except for in one particular character which helped the story move on to the ending. To be honest, I couldn’t have asked for a better introduction to the mystery thriller genre. This is definitely the one if you want to try it out.

tgd&abato
follow me on instagram! @adoringfiction

Favorite Quote(s)

* Quotes have not been checked with finished copy

“7 meant she was a seeker, a thinker, always trying to understand underlying truths” (3).

“I love books. I read anything I can get my hands on” (76).

“Not one question as to why the men took those liberties… as if her presence in the woods was justification…” (95).

“All the love in the world couldn’t make up for one’s actions” (107).

“‘The bitch’s blind'” (143).

“There’s job security in the messes people make” (186).


I won this book through an ARC giveaway through Shelf Awareness from Penguin Random House so thank you so much to them. I think I’m officially moving my reviews to be spoiler free as I see that’s what most of them are and I feel like more people like spoiler free because they’re easy to read through without dodging spoiler after spoiler.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

