Searching Saturday #1: Resolution Fulfillers

Hello everybody! I am here today to start a series / meme new to my blog that has been around for a little bit created by Nikki @ The night is dark and full of books. Each Saturday, there is a topic and you search for books within that realm either for me to just talk about or to add to my TBR. You can go check out her introductory post here. I was going to read one of these books a month but I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to knowing my own reading habits. I also decided I’d do just 3 – 5 books so that I don’t overboard or underboard. So without further hesitation, let’s get into my first Searching Saturday.

resolutionfulfillers

This week’s topic is Resolution Fillers.

These are books are books that can fulfill my bookish resolutions. Now, this was my first year setting real resolutions for my bookish life making this topic that much easier.

Runes (Runes #1) by Ednah Walters

This is an e-book that I own that I believe is free on all e-book platforms. One of my new year’s resolutions is to read more e-books and this one will help.

runesgirls20cover20front “Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.

Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.

Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about Torin. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only are she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life” -Goodreads

border

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

One of my new year’s resolutions is to complete a Instagram reading challenge that I found and one of the challenges is to read a classic romance. What can get more classic and romantic than Pride and Prejudice. I have started it a few times but never got further than maybe 15%.

pride-and-prejudice_bn “In this historic romance, young Elizabeth Bennet strives for love, independence and honesty in the vapid high society of 19th century England.” – Goodreads

border

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass

Another resolution is read more fantasy. Unlike common opinion, fantasy is not my favorite genre and I don’t read a whole bunch of it. ToG series would totally fulfill that portion with quite a few books in its series.

tog-nyt-cover “‘Nothing is a coincidence. Everything has a purpose. You were meant to come to this castle, just as you were meant to be an assassin.”

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.” – Goodreads


That’s all I’m doing for this first session. But again, if you’d like to check this out and maybe want to join click here. That’s all for today! – Kambria

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Another great blog participating in Searching Saturday, how exciting! 🙂 What a wonderful first post. I just started getting into fantasy last year and have been really enjoying it, before I only really read thriller/crime. I hope you’ll have similar experiences! I’m looking forward to your future Searching Saturday posts! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

