TBR Jar #3: Winger

I am back again with another TBR Jar pick. First I’d like to say that I am so late writing this post. I have already finished the book and I just started withing this, it will actually be up after my review. How actually crazy is that? But anyway, onto the short post.

For my third pick from my To Be Read Jar that I love oh so much, I chose… Winger by Andrew Smith! Here is the cover and synopsis and to make this post just a bit longer, I’ll even add how I got it, even though it isn’t much of a story haha.

 

51cuofe2bspl-_sy344_bo1204203200_ Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.

With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.

Filled with hand-drawn info-graphics and illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking.

How I Got It

I had acquired some money in… August for my birthday and with that money I took it to Half Price Books for some bookish shopping since I hadn’t done so in a while. After browsing for a while I narrowed my check out to Suicide Notes for Beautiful Girls, The Summer I Turned Pretty, and Winger. For a paperback I believe it was only $4 so I just had to grab it right up especially since I had been wanting to read it for a few months. But that’s it for that story!

winger


That’s all for today folks! I will have another one of these up really soon. Keep a look out for it – Kambria

Leave a Reply

