The Summer I Turned Pretty Review

5821978
Author
: Jenny Han
Series: Summer
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Published: April 6, 2010
Retail Price: $9.99
Received: Bought
Rating: 4.5/5

Synopsis

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along. (Goodreads)

Review

What a feels roller coaster this book was! I could not get enough of it once I started. If it wasn’t for school and being sick, I would’ve had this book finished the same day I started.

Jenny Han has done it again. An amazing contemporary novel making me itch to read the next two books. Her writing is beautiful. It really involves you in the story that you have to feel so connected to everybody. You get every emotion so clear through the words and descriptions of the main character. And the flashbacks add so much to the story. It sets you back in that time instead of just trying to tell the memory. Such a neat idea.

Our characters are brilliant! We know just enough in this first novel that makes us fall for them. Our main character, although whinny, is such a developed character that you end up loving no matter what. Jeremiah is my new fictional boyfriend because he’s ‘not like the other guys’, he’s emotional and you love him for being him. Conrad, although you don’t learn much about him because of how shut out he is in the present, you learn about him in the flashbacks. Lastly, Steven, the brother, even has dimension as well as our mothers, love interest, and friends.

Certain characters have some development. Its not enough to rave about but the plot as a whole develops beautiful to continue the story in a pace that isn’t too extreme. The pacing really suits the story and its line as well.

Lastly I will say that I was not the biggest fan of the ending… If you’ve read the book, go to the spoilers and check out why.

Spoilers

I did not like the ending because I wanted Belly to end up with Jeremiah. Conrad pissed me off 85% of the book and I just wanted her to get over him. Ugh it made me so angry because Jeremiah is so sweet and they could be such a perfect couple. But now she’s seeing Conrad in the winter and that makes it serious.

I hated Taylor so much. She was such a hoe bad friend!

Belly actually annoyed me with the way she treated Cam. He meant so well and she got angry at him because he wasn’t the perfect thing. But then she was sad when she didn’t have anybody to be with. It was a stupid circle game.

Favorite Quote(s)

“My father was always buying me books.” pg. 49

“It was the summer I turned pretty.” pg. 21

“Because even when he hated her, he admired her.” pg. 51

“It’s Tay-lor, not Tyler, Jeremy.” pg. 75

“‘So how do you know this guy?’ ‘He’s my supplier.'” pg. 142

“‘You shouldn’t use the word ‘gay’ like that.'” pg. 173

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

