Hollow City Review

220px-hollow_city_novel_cover

Author: Ransom Riggs
Series: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Historical Fiction
Published: January 14, 2014 (Hardcover)
Retail Price: $17.99
Received: Bought
Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Synopsis

This sequel to the first novel, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended.

Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered vintage photographs. (Goodreads)

 

If you have not read the first book of this series, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I suggest you don’t continue to read this review for there could and will be spoilers.

 

Review

I was completely enticed. From the second the story began, picking up immediately where it left off in the first book. It easily recapped the previous book within the first few pages so that I remembered everything that happened and could easily continue on reading with being confused.

The writing made me feel so connected with the story. I thought I was there with the characters escaping such dangerous creatures. The detail and beautiful writing really pulls you in creating such a clear photo in your head. I felt like I was watching a movie the whole time.

Character time. First off, I loved Jacob. He was just complex enough that he was still relatable in such a scary version of our world. The fact that he has a security blanket that he carries every is real too. Next, Emma. Our strong female lead who I adored so much. She really takes a hand at being responsible and although I like that, I also wanted to see one of these peculiar children step up to the plate and not have her be so overwhelming. The rest of our characters were also so well developed and you can tell Ransom Riggs had a whole backstory for them to build on their character.

This was a great book because it was both plot AND character driven. I could never ask for anything better. Ransom Riggs really plugged both of these things in and it seemed so easy.

If you want a book that is plot AND character driven with lots of action, this is definitely the book / series for you. (Let me just say that I can totally see why Jesse @jessethereader loves this series so much.

Spoilers

The continuing romance between Jacob and Emma is super weird and I actually hate it. They are not my OTP. It actually kind of disgusts me being that neither of them really recognize until the end of the book that Emma is nearly 100 years old and Jacob is how old? 16.

Spoiler character time. I got really annoyed with Brownyn towards the middle of the novel. She was really annoying when she kept defending the children and had a soft hard. It didn’t help anybody.

Favorite Quote(s):

“a wrinkle-hearted old titmouse…” pg. 44

“‘Terrible day! Very displeased to meet you!'” pg. 86

“Horace stuck his face between the bars and shot a line of bees…” pg. 130
– I found a typo! Horace doesn’t have bees, Hugh does!

“‘What’s your name, boy?’ ‘Huh-huh-Horace…’ ‘Well, Huh-Horace…'” pg. 174

“‘At the heart of nature’s mystery lies another mystery.'” pg. 193

“Laughing doesn’t make bad things worse any more than crying makes them better.” pg. 301


So sorry I haven’t posted in a while! I forgot that I had messed this review up and never finished so it was sitting in my drafts. But I have a few ideas to get posting more and hopefully you all will like them (: -Kambria

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

