Anna and the French Kiss Review

71n-haxibzl

Author: Stephanie Perkins
Series: Anna and the French Kiss
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Published: July 16, 2016
Retail Price: $9.99
Received: Bought
Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for? (Goodreads)

Review

This book provoked my feels so much. I went through a roller coaster of emotion while reading this. Anna Oliphant’s experience in Paris is exhilarating. Dealing with new and old friends and also new and old beautiful boys is such a fun ride to go through, especially with it being set in the city of Paris. But all throughout this book I was happy or excited or sad or angry or laughing my butt just like Anna and I loved getting into her shoes. I had to hold back an outburst of feels because I was in school after a test hahaha.

I love Etienne St. Clair oh so very much. He is such a beautiful character. He’s complex and difficult to know with a seemingly rough life. I think I have found myself a new fictional boyfriend because Etienne is everything you want in a boy, he’s almost not real (haha get it). This leads me into the complex characters…

Every character in this book seemed to have a story. You will either love or hate every single character talked about in this book because we get a side to the characters that means something to them, even if its just one little thing like a drawing or a tattoo. I was able to step into a lot of these character’s shoes and I had fun doing so. The side characters are so lovable and friendly and I want them all with me right now.

Being that this is my very first Stephanie Perkin’s novel, I very much understand why everyone loves her and why she’s so recognized as such an amazing author. Her writing flows so well with each other and fits the character so well. We’re getting a story from the character while also going through it. She makes amazing characters and her descriptions are brilliant. I fell in love with her writing and cannot wait to read more.

Lastly I want to say, this got my out of my reading slump! I heard a lot of people talking about this being a great book for it and it actually is. Its so light-hearted and fun that you just speed through it whether or not you want to savor every moment you have with it. I could’ve finished this much quicker if I didn’t have school and homework.

aatfk
Follow me on Instagram! @youngbook.lover

Spoilers

I absolutely hate Bridgette. I don’t care if your best friend is in Paris, you don’t go after the guy that she likes. If you’re going to do that though, at least be honest with her. She is honestly one of the worst friends that I have ever read about.

I absolutely hate Christopher. How could you be so boyishly stupid that you didn’t notice that 1) this girl really liked you 2) that you’re dating her best friend and especially 3) that you hurt her feelings? I’ve never read about a more stupid and ignorant boy before, and I’m being serious with this. He is the perfect reason to date a guy like St. Clair which I am so happy that Anna ends up doing.

I love St. Clair’s story. He had so much to him with his family, his relationship confusion. But I love especially that he’s honest. He’s honest about his not wanting to be alone and I love that he’s vulnerable and not what some people may call a stereotypical male. He has a depth to him that you don’t often see in males in YA fiction.

haul

Favorite Quote(s)

“‘Chocolat chaud’ ‘A chocolate show?'” pg. 11

“Argh! Boys turn girls into such idiots.” pg. 35

“I’ve never seen so many books in one bedroom. They’re stacked along his wall like towers…” pg. 114

“everwhere I turn there are books, books, and more books… in wobbly stacks… spill[ing] from sagging shelves.” pg. 183-4

“Like being gay is something to be ashamed of.” pg. 323

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

