The Last Star Review

Author: Rick Yancey
Series: The 5th Wave
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Published: May 24, 2016
Retail Price: $18.99
Received: Borrowed from library
Rating: 4.5/5

51pmtvhtdxl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Synopsis

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human. (Goodreads)

tls.PNG

Review

The third and final book to an amazing trilogy. So many many questions are answered, so many come up and are dealt with in such a thrilling way. I love the way we find things out in this novel. Everything is found out, nothing just happens to be known by any character with this “all-knowing” ability. All the characters learn.

A third book full of so much amazing and detailed action that can get your heart racing because you feel like you’re in the moment. I was gasping because I was nervous of the outcome of all of the fighting scenes knowing that with the details, somebody would be hurt. And oh my gosh, so many people got hurt in this book I feel. It was crazy!

It may break your heart at the smallest of things. It happened to me, probably because it was the third novel so I was emotional either way. But there were simple sentences that I was aching over because everything caused an internal water works.

This book was so freaking hilarious! I was dying with laughter about 21 pages in and with every Cassie point of view pretty much, which made me like her a lot this novel. I was always looking for her point of views because she turned into my favorite character.

I very much disapprove of every “romantic” relationship in this novel. I feel they are all… Disgusting. At least they are in my opinion. I do not ship Cassie and Evan together, or Ben and Ringer, or the really weird relationship between Vosch and Ringer (honestly really creeped out by that one). Nothing about any of them seem very realistic and I feel they are very problematic and even sometimes one-sided.

bookstack

Spoilers

I don’t like Sam. He forgot his ABCs, forgot his mom’s face, and then was mad at Cassie for no apparent reason in the time when he should be grateful that she’s still there. Bet he regrets that in the end. I like Sam, he’s a strong little kid and sadly, he was raised and learned in the time of a war.

The ending tore my heart out for two reasons. 1) Cassie dies, and although it was for a good reason, I really hate that she did it. I don’t know what else she could have done, but I wish their was another way out. 2) Ringer and Ben name the kid Cassie. That’s when I cried (not much though). It broke my heart but made me really happy because Cassie lives on.

Favorite Quote(s):

“Not all is lost if bacon isn’t” (33).

“Ben, Has-Ben, and What-Might-Have-Ben” (33).

Bears me down. That’s a good one” (314).

“I am humanity” (318, etc.).

“Love is forever. If it wasn’t, it wouldn’t be love. The world is beautiful, if it wasn’t, it wouldn’t be the world” (316).

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

