Demigods & Monsters Review

Author: Raye Wagner
Series: Sphinx
Genres: Young Adult, Mythology, Fantasy
Date Published: April 25, 2016
Publisher: None
Retail Price: $13.95
Page Count: 374
Received: Bought
Rating: 4.5/5

51pj2sd9hvl

Synopsis

Can Apollo’s curse be broken?

Seventeen-year-old Hope Nicholas is done running. Apollo’s curse has ruled her entire life, limiting her choices and robbing her of the things that matter most. But she refuses to live in fear any longer. In fact, she’s ready to do whatever it takes to break the god’s power over her existence.

When the goddess Artemis instructs Hope to impersonate a demigod and infiltrate a conservatory to get access to the Olympian library, she doesn’t hesitate. As she sees it, there’s nothing left to lose.

But once inside, Hope discovers the only way to get what she needs is to work with her sworn enemies. As the lines between demigod and monster are crossed again and again, Hope has to dig deep for the courage to accept her fate or fight for the freedom to save herself.

Demigods and Monsters is the second book in the Sphinx series.

Review

An amazing sequel to the brilliant first novel, The Curse of the Sphinx. Hope’s story continues as she literally fights her way to figuring out how to break her curse in a limited amount of time. We are introduced to so many new characters who you can easily come to like a lot. One being Xan, or beautiful front cover model.

I personally fell in love with Xan, no matter if he causes a very awkward love triangle that actually kind of isn’t one (???). But since we’re on the subject, there is no insta-love. Back to Xan. He is so caring and nice to Hope, its amazing. With his introduction, you don’t think he’ll end up that way. He’s so confident, I actually found myself feeling better about myself just reading from his character.

“‘Why should I care what you or anyone else thinks of me?'” (91).

Another side character that I begun to care for a lot is Dahlia, Xan’s cousin, and Thenia. I would have liked more of a background for Thenia so we could get to know her better, I would have been more attached to her with it no matter how nice she was to Hope. I feel we got enough for Dahlia that we would feel a chest pang when she was sad though, which is good.

The writing is still so beautiful. Raye Wagner continued to blow my mind with her beautiful words that fit so well into an eighteen-year-olds life. The words that were used just moved me and  I fell in love while reading. I want to take a second to say thank you to Raye Wagner for being an amazing author. I say this in a lot of my reviews, but the writing is true to the personality of our main character. Although it is not first person, we still understand how Hope feels during certain situations and how she thinks.

“And he was like a million years old” (27).

We have enemies! They are horrible enemies, they’re only likable if you think they’re hot (and sadly, I sort of kind of did). We have the sons of Apollo who are out hunting the Sphinx, three brothers. We have some other demigods who are associated with Xan and Dahlia. They help cause so much suspense that I was breathing heavily through certain parts of the book.

dg&m

Spoilers

APOLLO FRYIG HIS SONS OH MY GOD. I couldn’t believe until I read it. I can’t believe he did that, basically because of how obsessed with Hope he is. And that’s creepy too. I don’t know how bad I felt either though, only that it was their own father that did that too them. I don’t know how bad I felt for Obelia either. I felt a slight pain for her losing her best friend, Endy, but she kind of deserved it. At least she didn’t fry right? But she shouldn’t have burst in on Hope like that thinking she was bad and tough. Its called karma for acting the way she did.

The love triangle was so awkward oh my god! Did Hope actually like Xan? What is your intake on that if you’ve read this book. I personally think she did have feelings for him and wasn’t just being friendly, or at least, I hope she did and was just having denial because Xan is great. Another question about our male leads! Who do you want Hope to be with? Athan or Xan and why?

The demigods and gods and monsters living in the current world feel so real when they mentioned real life celebrities and idols as being some. Mentioning Hitler and Marilyn Monroe turns the whole story into something more. What would you call that? Mythology-Fantasy Realism? Whatever it may be, I like it.

books3

Favorite Quotes

“Hope loved books and the concept of libraries. All types of books… for a person to absorb. A book could take you somewhere… transform you” (103).

“‘You must not care for libararies much.’… Just saying that felt wrong” (104).

“‘Every book ever written– ever published,… is in here” (105).

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

