Never Forgotten Review

Author: Kelly Risser
Series: Never Forgotten
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy
Date Published: June 14, 2014
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Retail Price: (E-book) $0.00
Page Count: 286 pages
Received: Purchased
Rating: 3/5

20874388

Synopsis

Risser keeps her focus on the little details of Meara’s everyday life, lending the book a nice, homey charm. ~Kirkus Reviews

Meara Quinn is about to find out there are worse things than moving to a tiny oceanside town before her senior year. Like discovering there’s a secret being kept from her and knowing it’s a life-changer.

After experiencing vivid visions of her absentee father, Meara decides she deserves answers. With the help of her new friend Evan, a guy she happens to be falling for, she embarks on a journey in the hopes of unlocking family history and finding her true self. But when she meets a handsome stranger at a local club who knows far more about her than he should, her world is again shaken. In him, Meara may have uncovered the key to the very secret that will reveal not only who she is… but what she is. (Goodreads)

Review

A slow paced start to a differently set paranormal series. Meara Quinn grows up not knowing most of her identity. When thinks start to go wrong, and her mom becomes sick, things start to slowly unravel right in front of Meara’s eyes that she doesn’t understand. She begins learning about everything that surrounds her mother; her grandparents, her mom’s hometown, and even her dad. All the while, finding a relationship with a beautiful boy.

My main reasoning for the rating of this novel is due to how I went into the story. I didn’t know much about it, but I went in thinking that it was going to be an amazing paranormal story which I didn’t get. Yes, this came from hype that I heard from a short review of the story but all in all that opinion effected my reading because I wanted more paranormal. I did though, get more romance, which I was not against.

The romance in this story between Meara and Evan was to die for! It was beautiful (even if it was a slight case of insta-love) the way they cared for each other. It seemed so pure and mature for their age with their “relationship pacing” other than some other Young Adult fiction that rush into almost everything. This was the main cause of my love for Evan Mitchell. He’s such a beautiful character; his features, his personality, his intelligence, he’s such a brilliant character.

The pacing, as mentioned before, is very slow. Yes, it is good that everything wasn’t solved in a quick manner, but for my liking, I would have liked things to be sped up a bit more so that we had more of all that was going to happen within this first novel. I feel, this also had a direct affect on how long it took me to read this book. Although, this did not at all cause the story to be horrible, I do believe I will push through and find out more about what happens in the second book because I hate giving up on books and I feel this series really has potential.

Overall, I have to mention the writing. Why? Because it was beautiful! Risser’s writing was so well descriptive and had so many great words that weren’t difficult to understand. It was also real for the age that Meara is, Risser did not make her main character seem older than she is, she added all the necessary comments, snarky and sarcastic, that a teenage would make. This helped me connect with Meara a lot because I make the same type of comments as her, being a teenage myself.

junetbr

Favorite Quotes

“I wasn’t comfortable around guys my age, especially cute ones” (34). ME!!

“‘get me the hell out of here, it’s Friday’ traffic” (125).

“‘Humans kill each other. They kill animals and pollute the land and water. Is that not evil?'” (192). She has a point

“‘I don’t think I could stop loving you if I tried'” (241).

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

