The Wrath & The Dawn Review

Author: Renee Ahdieh
Series: The Wrath & The Dawn
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings
Date Published: May 12, 2015
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books
Retail Price: $7.61
Page Count: 388
Received: Borrowed from library
Rating: 5/5

51zanrz7r4l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Synopsis:

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end. (Goodreads)

ma

Review:

A beautifully written story about love, loss, hatred, revenge, life lessons and so much more are put into one amazingly complex story about “just one boy and one girl.” Shahrzad is going into this marriage for one thing only; revenge on the King of Kings, Khalid, for murdering her best friend. What she doesn’t know is that her, and many other people’s limits are going to be tested whether that is in love or true faith or loyalty.

I want to begin by saying this is book had me hooked from the very first chapter with how beautiful Ahdieh’s writing is. Now I say the first chapter and not the prologue because the prologue was a bit hard to understand. I’m pretty sure I had to read it three times before I got a slight jist of what it could mean. But once the story really begins and the exposition is being laid out, I fell in love with everything from the culture to the settings to the confusion of why Shahrzad is so angry. It made me really feel the need to continue and push on reading because I just needed to know what was going to happen next and what was going on.

I felt so connected with Shahrzad and I hope everyone else did too because that made this ride even more amazing. While reading I felt every emotion she did as it twisted and turned into all that she wanted. I felt her anger and her pain that at certain parts of the book, I felt the need to double over and cry because I couldn’t take the pain of what was going on.

Our male characters are to die for (hopefully not literally in Shahrzad’s case). I was in love with each of them at one part of another during the story. I wish we were able to like Rahim more though, I feel like he’d be a really refreshing point of view to add and get a backstory of. Anyway, or two main love interests, Tariq and Khalid, both have their ups and their downs about themselves but they come at different parts of the story and this, I feel, can cause heartbreak in easily swooned readers like myself. Tariq and Khalid each rose and fell over time and now I’m stuck with a completely different opinion than when I first started reading the book. As far as OTP’s go within this book I’m not sure who I want Shahrzad to be with (being that there is a sort of love triangle).I hope that is settled in the second book. But as for me, I am in love with Jalal Al-Khoury who I immediately fell in love with the second he was introduced. Tell me your opinion of the TW&TD  boys down in the comments!

The strong sense of wisdom was conveyed through the characters and character development. The all learned themselves or had learned and were able to help somebody else because of it or tell a story of a life lesson learned because of it. I loved reading about all the different tales that Shahrzad told Khalid and many other characters had told. I learned a lot from this book that needs to be known in life so I feel this book is a MUST READ just because of that. Everyone needs to read a good fiction retelling of good life revelations at least once in their lifetime, and this is that book.

The character development in this book has a lot to do with what I mentioned above. Almost all the characters learned at least one thing throughout this adventure and that added to how they changed. The development, although complex in each one of them, was brilliant. Some you wouldn’t expect starting off but the slight element of surprise from the changes adds a lot to this story and made it more exciting to read just waiting to see how the changes would affect the storyline.

twatd.PNG

Spoilers:

My feels were going through the roof with Shahrzad and Khalid’s love for each other. It was so difficult, which somehow, made me love it more. I liked their “struggle” to figure each other out, although it was mainly Shazi trying to figure out Khalid. All their ups and downs made me suffer through all of it to the very end to see how it turned out and now I’m confused. Here comes the “screaming”-all-caps-freak-out-session…

WHAT IS JALAL TALKING ABOUT TO TARIQ “IF YOU LOVE HER DON’T LET HER COME BACK”. I THOUGHT YOU LOVED SHAZI. I THOUGHT YOU KNEW SHE LOVED KHALID. I THOUGHT YOU KNEW KHALID LOVED HER. WHY ARE YOU KEEPING THEM SEPARATED?? I LOVED YOU AND I NOW I’M GOING TO HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL I READ THE SECOND BOOK TO SEE IF I STILL DO COME ON JALAL. Carrying on (:

Favorite Quotes:

“‘It must be a special book.’ ‘All books are special, dear.'” – pg 28

“‘He realized men could respect him for being more than just a thief– they could respect him for being a man of honor upon whom they could rely.'” – pg 79

“‘The reason any man fights for a cause. Purpose.'” – pg 121

“‘And Leila… A lover of books and poetry.'” – pg 135

“‘but I do know enough to realize you cannot control the actions of others. You can only control what you do with yourself afterward.'” – g 137

“‘In my life, the one thing I have learned above all is that no individual can reach the height of their potential without the love of others.” – pg 137

“‘I’ll leave this set of goods on the rack, as well. I have no interest in… tiny cucumbers.'” – pg 159

“‘People fall in and out of love with the rising and setting of the sun. Rather like a boy who loves the color green one day, only to discover on the morrow that he truly prefers blue.'” – pg 223

“‘You shall not prevail, little hell-knot'” – pg 289

“‘Why do you love her?’ ‘Because… All of my most cherished memories are of her. I’ve suffered alongside her. And… we’ve laughed at nothing together.'” – pg 295

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

