Catching Up Saturday June 4

Hey everybody and Happy June! If you don’t know why we’re here, Catching Up Saturday is a series on my blog where I catch up with you guys on the things I’ve been doing, reading wise and not. Its a fun and easy way to fill up the space between my reviews and just to talk to everyone here. So without further ado, let’s get into this catch up session.

catchingupsaturday

So first of all, again, Happy June! I will begin with my May Wrap-Up which is on my Instagram (@youngbook.lover). This month I somehow managed to finish 5 books even though I was busy with studying for finals and getting out of school. Here they are (the link to my reviews will be underneath each):

  • Summer of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider: 5/5 stars
    Review
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury: 1.5/5 stars
    Review
  • The Girl Behind the Glass by Jane Kelley: 3.5/5 stars
    Review
  • The Curse of the Sphinx by Raye Wagner: 4/5 stars
    Review
  • All American Boys by Jason Reynolds & Brendan Kiely: 5/5
    Review

maywu

I think I might have changed my star count on one of these but its only because sometimes I get to thinking about my experience reading a book and then I change my opinion a bit, which is okay. Anyway, I had a pretty good reading month withΒ reallyΒ good books beginning and ending the month. And since that month is over, that can only mean one thing… June TBR! I also have posted this on my Instagram so if you haven’t, go check that out. Here it is:

  • It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini (TBRΒ Jar Pick)
  • Never Forgotten by Kelly Risser
  • Demigods & Monsters by Raye Wagner
  • any thing I choose from my TBR Jar!

As far as Monthly To Be Read lists go, I’m not very good at them. I choose to read certain books in a month because I chose them, the movie is coming out soon, or I… chose them, hehe. I’m not really a mood reader type of person so I really just choose blindly and pump myself up for whatever it is I’m going to be reading. I’m reading Demigods & Monsters by Raye Wagner this month, which is the second book in the Curse of the Sphinx series because Regan @ PeruseProject is featuring on her channel this month and I can’t wait to see how her thoughts compare to my own.

junetbr

As far as my currently reading, I am reading It’s Kind of a Funny Story and Never Forgotten. I’ve never really been a multiple-book-at-a-time reader but I’ve learned its easier when one is an e-book and the other is a physical copy. I read e-books easier while I’m in the car or out because its easier to carry and hold outside of home, and physical books when I’m just at home chilling (and because their harder to take out in public). I bought It’s Kind of a Funny Story a while back when I had gone to Half Price Books. I am 81 pages into it and I really like it so far, I’m kind of in a slump so I’m not reading as much as I want to at the moment. I just recently got Never Forgotten for free on my Nook from Amazon. I don’t know exactly how many pages I’m in to it since I do not have my Nook right here next to me but its about the same as IKOAFS. I heard of it because Ben @ Benjaminoftomes on Youtube has a thing called “Free Book Friday” on his channel which is a series of good free books online. This is the second book I’ve gotten from this series of his and I love that he has it so much. Go check him out!

hpb

The last bookish thing for this catch up session is that I won a Curse of the Sphinx swag pack in a giveaway hosted by the author, Raye Wagner herself! I was so super excited for it because I bought the book to basically “go with” the stuff that I won. I got 4 clothes pins, two say Demigod, one says Cursed, and the fourth says Monster; I also got a book thong with a Trojan mask thing on it and a red bed which I love so much; and also two book marks which she signed! One says “Happy Reading – Raye” and the other says “Kambria- Find the power to break your curses – Raye” and I love all of it so much. Much thanks to her, she’s amazing.

tcots

Okie dokie ladies and gents, that is all I have for you guys today. Now I’m going to go read some more and maybe get further into both of my books. See you next time with (hopefully) a review!

-Kambria

All photos provided by my Instagram @youngbook.lover
Leave a Reply

