The Curse of the Sphinx Review

Author: Raye Wagner
Series: Sphinx
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology
Originally Published: August 11, 2015
Publisher: None
Retail Price:
$12.95
(E-book) Page Count: 660
Received: Given to by author
Rating: 4/5

26207970-_uy200_

Synopsis:

Seventeen year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. But no one is chasing her. In fact, no one even knows she exists. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town and school to school, barely staying long enough to meet anyone, let alone make friends. And she’ll have to keep it that way. It’s safer.

When her mother is brutally ripped away from her, Hope’s life shatters. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse, murder from the shadow monsters of the Underworld, or have the demigods finally found her? Orphaned and alone, Hope flees again, but this time there’s no one to teach her who to trust—or how to love.

Set in a universe where mythology is alive and well in the modern world, Curse of the Sphinx irresistibly blends action, suspense and romance. (Goodreads)

What I Liked:

Everything was well detailed. I loved the way the author described the flights Hope and her mother took. I could actually perfectly picture what each Sphinx looked like, and their surroundings wherever they were. The author, Wagner, took a lot to detail with setting. I saw everything thing around Hope as she went on with life.

I actually loved the drama and secrecy that had to go on with Hope. Whether it had to do with her curse, or with trying to fit in at a new school, it was all interesting and intriguing. It also all made sense to the story. You can’t have a story about a teenage girl who goes to school and not have trouble fitting in. It all made sense.

There was so much growing up that had to go on. I’m really proud of Hope in this aspect. Her character development was really good since she is one of the only character’s we see develop. She grows up in a short time and she does it under tough conditions.

I really love Hayley. She was so good to Hope when Hope really needed a friend, whether either of them knew it or not. Hayley never got pissed at Hope having a busy schedule, she was just a good friend as soon as Hope got into Goldendale.

 

If you have not read this book, do not continue. Spoilers ahead.

 

 

Athan. He was such a good person and he didn’t need to be! He was hunting Hope for God’s sake before even knowing it, and when he did find out, he still kept her safe! Athan is such a good guy to Hope but I’m not sure how much of a crush had on him. He was really back-and-forth throughout the whole time Hope knew him, it was kind of hard to see where he stood a lot of the time. But in the end, he did what was right so I do have a small place in my heart for him.

What I Didn’t Like:

That damn Skia, Darren. He was always there when he wasn’t wanted. All Hope wanted to do was go for a run to clear her mind and he just made it worst.

I also really really disliked Krista. I was so happy when Hope fought her, it made me so elated that she got what she deserved. People who act like her make me angry, she thinks she’s bigger than what she really is. When she tries to act tough, she gets taught her lesson. And she deserved the lesson she got. I feel like that sounds bad, but its true.

This next point is on me. It took me so long to read! I’m really angry at myself for this, its the reason why I gave it 4 stars. I guess because I had the e-book on my phone, I often got distracted and turned to my physical books instead. The pages on the e-book are also considered more so it also made it harder for me to think I was reading 600 pages instead of 300. This had absolute no correlation with the writing or the plot, but I’m still really sad about it because it stopped me from being able to fully indulge in the greatness of this mythical fantasy that I really enjoyed.

Favorite Quote(s):

“allowing the words of well-written fantasy novel to distract from her own bleak reality.” – page 202

“‘Don’t want to mingle with trash of Goldendale?'” – page 262

“Life wasn’t meant to be lived in perfect safety. Living was all about risks, love, loss, joy, pain, sorrow, and triumph. Hiding was a shallow existence, it wasn’t living.” – page 659

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

