Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Review

Author: Ransom Riggs
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal
Published: June 7, 2011
Publisher: Quirk
Retail Price: $10.99
Received: Bought
Rating: 4/5

missperegrinecover

Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

What I Liked:

The photographs added so much to the description of the story. If there weren’t any photos it might have been a little harder to imagine the paranormal factor of this book. They blended so well with what was already described in the book right before the shown photo and what amazes me is that most of these are real with just a little touch of photoshop. It kind of makes me want to go to the flea market and find some photographs like these.

The writing and descriptions were beautiful! Riggs is a great author, I can tell from this one book I’ve read of his. Some descriptions I can say might have been a little overdone but all-in-all it added really well to what the story was about. I could really picture everything that was going on, especially the hollowgast!

The plot and story had me hooked from page 1 to page 352. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that it took me a long time to read, not because of the story itself, but because of me being busy. This caused me to not be as invested in it as I wanted to be (I mean, I’ve been wanting to read this book for three years now) so that caused the rating to drop down one. The world the peculiars all lived in is so complicated and beautiful and Riggs did a great job of slowly but surely and in detailed-ly explaining how that world worked and why. It was almost like I was in a history class over ymbrynes, peculiar children, and loops. I still have some questions on how the loops work though, which is why I’m excited to read the next book in the trilogy.

What I Didn’t Like:

Emma and Jacob’s relationship is a bit odd to me. I mean, Jacob is technically dating and 88 year old, she just looks his age. Also, she once dated his grandfather. Jacob points this out to himself and it still doesn’t bother me, and I don’t know how. But they did find a good comfort with each other and connection so I guess it was sort of… okay for them to be together.

I actually didn’t hate much of anything, everything was so beautiful and well written within this story that I have nothing to complain about. I highly recommend to any who doesn’t want to much of a scary read but wants some paranormal in their life at the moment.

Favorite Quote(s):

“It was almost more intense than kissing,  the just looking.” – pg. 244

“‘It was his fondest wish to be common, to live a common life.'” – pg. 253

“‘Rather than becoming gods, they had transformed themselves into  devils.'” – pg. 260

“imprisoned in a permanent night.” – pg. 290

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

