Truth by Christina Bejamin

Published: September 15, 2012
Rating: 4 / 5
Title of Series: The Geneva Project

516ds4hz7xl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Synopsis:

Trapped on a flood ravaged island full of orphans, natives and wealthy citizens of the prosperous city Lux, a young girl named Geneva finds herself enslaved at an orphanage with no future and a past she can’t remember. That all changes when she meets someone who promises her that there’s more in store for her than she ever could have imagined. Her once dull life rapidly spirals out of control as she starts to acquire new magical powers that may be the key to unlocking an ancient legend along with her true identity. But first she must master these powers, all while trying to keep them secret from her friends and the evil head mistress at the orphanage. Before she knows it, Geneva is in over her head and has inadvertently wrapped her friends into her web of magic and lies and now all of their lives hang in the balance once the head mistress finds out her plan to prove that the legend of Lux may not be a legend at all! Who will Geneva trust and how far will she go to save her friends and find out her true identity?

What I Liked:

Nova proved himself to be a strong character throughout the entire book. He always seemed to know what was right and what wasn’t right to do at the important given moments in time.

The character development in some characters was on point. Like Remi, he used to be shy nervous and timid. By the end of the book, he was brave and understanding and super smart. I also saw character development in Journey, he became so trusting in what Tippy wanted and needed to do.

 

If you have not read this book, do not continue you on. Spoilers ahead.

 

 

The small love that was Nova and Tippy. I could kind of see it coming from the beginning when they first became friends and started talking to each other. They winks and the kisses on the forehead were just too often and, I feel, too real to just be simple. I always knew there was something to them, and when he kissed her in the locker, I melted and died. I was so happy! I was happy for them.

The ending was the bomb dot com! I was in love with the ending that I stayed up instead of going to sleep because I had school the next morning. The biggest plot twist I’ve ever read and I loved it!!! Geneva is Jemma sister, the person she hates so much and has made her life horrible, is super closely related to her. Wow, I was shocked. I had no idea that was coming. That’s what makes it amazing.

What I Didn’t Like:

Tippy has a lack of character development, this is the reason the story only got 4 stars. I love seeing character development in main characters, that’s who we’re all basically here for. I felt the only development was in her change in friends and capabilities. Other then that she stayed bratty and ignorant the whole time. She never wanted to listen to other people and most of the time, actually didn’t listen until it deemed important to her. Literally, to the last page of the book.

The writing style seemed a bit childish to me. Maybe because the book revolved around young teens? I’m not sure but at times I didn’t like it. The descriptions were phenomenal of the powers and the scenery, but some of the dialogue was repetitive and choppy

 

Favorite Quote(s):

“It seemed the star and the sea didn’t know what to do without each other.” – pg. 120

“I began to live for those dreams that brought me to this perfect fantasy world…” – pg. 16

“It’s a relief to know I’m not hopelessly in love with this unattainable, seriously beautiful older boy…” – pg. 84

“He gave me a swift kiss on the forehead and a wink…” – pg. 98

“He had a voice as perfect as his flawless features.” – pg. 122

“Eva, meaning new beginning, restorer of light among the dark.” – pg. 141

“I never noticed this before, but all of a sudden, it seemed silly to me. These were just doors, highly structured ones at that, but still doors just the same.” – pg. 231

Leave a Reply

