The Infinite Sea Review

by Rick Yancey (Published September 16, 2014)

16131484

Synopsis:

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.
Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to overcome the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.
Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.
If you have not read the story yet, do not continue. Spoilers ahead.

What I Liked:

Razor.
This is sort of jumping far ahead in the book but Razor was my favorite character in the book. Yeah, he pulled that stunt with Vosch, but he’s proves afterward that he actually cares about Ringer… He cares about a lot of things actually. I liked him because he is still “human” compared to some other characters. He cared about a lot of things from the past, before the Attack On Humanity started.
Dumbo & Poundcake.
They are so trustworthy and not… crazy throughout the entire story. All they do is help. You can actually trust them through the whole thing. They’re those innocent side characters that when something bad happens to them you say feel sorry that they’re hurt instead of being completely sad because, what did they ever do to anyone to be treated that way? Also, Dumbo’s mystery of “Dubuque” is honestly the cutest thing ever. He’s so smart and… he doesn’t know something? Its adorable.
The Story’s Elements.
I feel as if this is a very good set-up of alien takeover. Its all sort of believable. Confusing a times, but that adds to the believing. They’re a mystery and still are once you finish, that’s what other creatures are supposed to be. Dystopian is my favorite ‘genre’ because I like the aspects of a different, and even possible, future world that doesn’t involve magic. Also making it about a young girl who survives hell, is even better.
The POVs.
Specifically that you don’t know exactly who it is at the beginning when it switches. Its kind of a guessing game until it gives you it. For example, after Cassie ran up the hotel stairs and found Ben lying nearly lifelessly on the ground, it changes point of view and I thought it was Ben because one of the first few sentences is, “Now, as his life slipped away…” (69). Yancey wants you to think its Ben, but then it continues and you find out its actually Evan.

What I Didn’t Like:

The Evan-Cassie-Ben Love Triangle.
I’m not sure if in my The 5th Wave review said I liked Evan and Cassie, but now I don’t. Its so back and forth and too confusing. One minute she hates him and wants to kill him, the next she’s kissing him and crying because she’s not sure what’s about to happen. Then the minute after that, she’s kissing Ben and all of her life dreams have come true. Its too close of time that she’s changing her mind for comfort to me. The back and forth, hating and loving thing goes on with Ben too. She’s yelling at Ben because he doesn’t like Evan, she’s allowing him to kiss her because she may die. I don’t know who likes who anymore.
Grace.
Her character was super creepy. The way she generally went about getting with Evan and then some things she said. I understand she’s not fully human but I just feel she wasn’t normal in any way.
Claire.
Probably the definition of Rude B****. I was so happy when Ringer put that metal pipe through her throat.

Overall Thoughts:

I really liked this book. I can’t exactly pin-point what I absolutely love about the story. I just liked any and all of it.  It was constantly pulling me into its different and many parts, there were a lot of them. There’s always a cliff hanger that isn’t really but really is (get it?), so you’re always wanting to now what’s next.

Ratings:

5/5 stars. 9.8/10 stars (because of some of those really annoying characters that just ticked me off way too much).

Favorite Quote(s):

“‘Ha!… I guess that’s checkmate, bitch!'” -(Teacup) pg. 25
“I never knew he was so religious- or judgmental. The two usually go hand in hand…” -pg. 158
“‘You extraterrestrial slut.'” -(Cassie) pg. 162
“‘Wha duh fuh?'” -(Razor) pg. 263
Leave a Reply

