The Fifth Wave Review

by Rick Yancey (Published 7, 2013)

16101128

Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

What I Liked:

Cassie.
I feel like her and I are a lot alike. On the high school teen scale at least, I’m not sure how I’d respond to an alien attack on the world. She liked a guy for a while that she couldn’t get the courage to talk to. She’s also a hero for herself, and her brother. Not only is she young but she’s also female, surviving on her own in an alien take over. Its kind of inspiring.
It’s sort of believable.
You’ll only agree with me on this if you believe in aliens. And I believe in aliens. Yancey helped me explain how smart they can be; they’ve been planting themselves inside humans for years for this one moment when they finally decide to unveil themselves. As I read I would just kind of think to myself “I feel like this is going to happen in the future… We can’t be the only ones in the universe.”
Evan.
He was a good alien! How could you not love and be proud of him. Even though he tried to kill Cassie, he just couldn’t because even extra-terrestrial species have feelings too. He was such a good guy (and I actually found this part surprising) that he was willing to kill him self, to save anymore people from getting brought in and helped. Like, that was very brave of him.

What I Didn’t Like:

As I was typing and came to this part of the review I noticed that I actually loved this book… A lot. So I’m just going to put the obvious right here.
The aliens.
But I mean hey! you can’t have a story without a protagonist.

Overall Thoughts:

That was an amazing book. A lot of plot twists that you knew were coming, but when they came you still weren’t ready for it. It was the book that got my reading strength back up, it actually kicked me in the butt and made me want to read the next book I had ready. The ending had be hooked that I didn’t believe it when the book actually end. I was caught off guard! Then I was really sad that the roller coaster was over until I could get the next book.

Ratings:

5/5 stars. 10/10 stars.

Favorite Quote(s):

“I don’t need him to buy [my excuse]. Just rent it for a few hours.” – pg. 324
“Sometimes in my tent, late at night, I think I can hear the stars scraping against the sky.”
“Our house was stacked floor to ceiling with every book [Dad] could find.” – pg. 16
“Because if a girl loans you a high lighter she must think you’re hot.” – pg. 20
“We wept for our smartphones, our cars, our microwave ovens, and the Internet.” – pg. 61
“‘Who are you, Evan? If that’s evan your name. Even your name.'” -(Cassie) pg. 344
Leave a Reply

